My data science journey so far in sca

ยท

2 min read

She Code Africa Mentorship Program Cohort 3: My first month.

So, last month I got accepted as a mentee for the she code africa mentorship program cohort 3. I was in the data science track for the the program.The past one month has been awesome and challenging.

In this article, i will give a brief summary of what I learnt so far in the program.

In the first week, i was introduced to the fundamentals of the python programming language, along with programming best pratices. I learnt how to represent and store data using python data types and variables. we also made use of conditionals and loos to control the flow of programs. I learnt how to write and call functions and how to manipluate strings. I also learnt of different data strutures like list, tuple,dictionary e..t.c Lastly, I learnt how to find and use modules in the Python Standard Library and other third-party libraries. I worked on two tasks to pratice the these skills. - password generator , random number guessing game.

During the second week, we learned Basic Mathematics for Data Science. We had great resources to understand Statistics and Probability.I made use of Python programming skills to estimate empirical and theoretical probabilities.

I learnt about some python libraries for data analysis like numpy, pandas and matplotlib for the third week and I was given a chinook database which holds information about a music store and I was too assist the Chinook team in understanding the media, Customer, employee and invoice information in their store by analyzing their data and writing some queries to give answers and insights about their store.

Last week I learnt about data wrangling in python which involves processing messy/complex data in different formats like cleaning, merging, grouping, concatenating e.t.c for easy access and analysis.

I'm looking forward to more fun and work for this month.